Product Review: Sam’s Famous Salsas

Natalya Jones
2 min readJan 30, 2023

--

Disclosure: I was given this product in exchange for this post. All opinions here are my own.

With Super Bowl LVII rapidly approaching, it’s time to brainstorm what snacks to serve. Sam’s Famous Salsas, made with a revised recipe that’s over 100 years old, is the perfect solution.

Not to mention, there’s no artificial preservatives and it’s gluten free. The real nutritional fact, however, is what’s on the packaging: “May be addictive. Meant for sharing, but we’ll understand if you don’t.”

After sampling all three flavors with TOSTITOS® Hint of Lime Flavored Tortilla Chips, I can attest to this. Here are my thoughts.

Mild

This seemed chunkier than the other two flavors and tasted solely like tomatoes to me. However, someone else I know loved this flavor. I would personally mix this with hot sauce to kicks things up a notch, but Mild could be good for those with low spice tolerance.

Medium

This had a slight spice that built with every bite, which left a lingering tingle. Medium is great for those who are new to spicy salsa, or who want small but noticeable heat. Hands down, it was more flavorful than Mild.

Hot

This flavor is definitely more intense than Medium, but it didn’t seem to be a huge jump – at first. Bite after bite, Hot began a slow burn around my lips, causing me to breathe almost comically out of my mouth. This was my favorite flavor, and the taste lingered for longer than the other two. Let’s just say that other people who sampled this one couldn’t handle the heat, but kept eating it anyway. If that doesn’t incentivize you to buy this salsa, I don’t know what will.

Visit https://samsfamoussalsa.com/.

--

--

Natalya Jones

Natalya’s work has been published in Shondaland, HuffPost, Elite Daily, ACTIVE, and more. Visit JonesingForJournals.com.